Anyone Interested in Reading Each Other’s Games?

15 09 2009

  I noticed a thread about playtesting our games over Skype.  I don’t know about everyone else, but I am extremely busy with school starting and all, and as much as I’d love to play each others games, I just don’t have the time.

  So, here’s my idea: basically, four or five Chefs get together into groups and read each others games.  We could have discussion over possible rules problems we see, things that the rules don’t make clear, etc.  

  Maybe this group could become a playtesting group later on if schedules clear up.  I’m up for being the founder of a group.  If anyone’s interested, we can get together in this thread or anywhere else, talk about when our first drafts will be finished (mine’s still a week off), and start talking.

Actions

Information

9 responses

15 09 2009
Dave M

Noah,
Count me in!
Dave M

15 09 2009
Talysman

What, no one?!

I’m willing to read about four games, in exchange for people reading mine. But what do you mean by the first draft? Mine’s six pages, only four of which are rules. But I consider that the guts of the game; I have a larger document I’m still writing and doing layout for.

15 09 2009
Talysman

Oh, and I suppose I’d have to be in another reading group, since you’ve already read mine.

15 09 2009
noahtrammell

Actually, Talysman, I you could be in this group. Like I said, I only skimmed your game, and there would be three or four other people reading it, too.
What I’m thinking is really deep reading of a game. We won’t be reading just for grammar, but also for voice and any potential problems we can imagine before we go into playtesting.
So, do we want to set up another page for this group to get everything together?

15 09 2009
Dave M

Talysman,
Um, don’t I count?
Dave M

16 09 2009
noahtrammell

So how do we want to do the whole discussion thing? Do we want to do a book-club style where we all read one person’s game each day/week/whatever and discuss it?

Also, in response to Talysman’s first question, I imagined this thing as being anything we throw together. Right now we can read your six-pager, but if you finish up the full version, I’d be willing to read that, too.

17 09 2009
mappamundorum

I’m in for this if it’s still happening.

-Jeff R/mappamundorum

19 09 2009
Dave M

Noah,
OK, that works. When do we start, who do we start with?
Dave M

20 09 2009
noahtrammell

OK, so I just put up a new page on this site called “The Book Club” that we can use as our forum. Who has the most complete game? Mine is still a ways from completion, considering I’m shooting for the four-week entry deadline. Any one have a game they’re confident about?

Leave a Reply

